Leaving Money on the Table

 

This is an idiom which means not getting as much money as you could. You use this phrase to talk about buying and selling things, negotiations, finance, etc. For example: If you attend a seminar or listen to a motivational speaker – and you don’t apply your learning to your work or business – you’re leaving money on the table.
I see a significant number of people leaving money on the table. They are found among readers of my social media posts as well as my online connections. Here’s a glimpse of my interactions with netizens who recently visited the Online Business Opportunities Page I created and manage on Facebook:
leave-money-on-the-table-metaphor-for-powerpoint-16x9-2
1) My question to a Page fan: “You are interested in online business and want to make money, don’t you?” He replied in the positive. I continued: “You can start with what’s known as affiliate marketing. Do you have a clear idea of what it is?”
No reply to date.
2) In spite of the abundance of clearly written posts and articles I had published on my FB Page, a netizen wrote: “Can you tell me more about your business?”
I sent this message: “My business is providing expect advice and service to small business owners, professionals, and students taking graduate courses.”
No further message from him.
3) Someone who “liked” the Page said he was “not involved in online business.”
I hope he gets in soon.
4) Another wrote “How can we apply?” In spite of the clarity of a post I published, this guy was lost. So I replied, “Apply where, what? Please specify.”
I’m waiting for his answer.
3) From a netizen: “Please help me. I don’t no how to make money online.” My reply which has not been answered: “Take a formal training.”
4) My location was all a female netizen wanted to know. I gave it and got no further message.
Maintaining a Facebook Page is not a walk in the park. There’re certain unproductive tasks to handle, e.g., writing replies to messages like those I mentioned above.
What encourages me to continue with the FB Pages I created is the thought that I’m doing some activities that benefit others.
People leave money on the table? Probably, the money is for those who really work for it.
Visit the Online Business Opportunities Page at https://www.facebook.com/newpursuit

Author: Gerry R Pira, EdD

Gerry is an independent service practitioner in Marketing Strategy, Social Selling, Writing, and Editing. He aims to help people in need of competent advice and service in order to prosper in their work, business, and/or educational pursuits. Besides a doctorate, his excellent qualifications include several years of corporate work in several industries and his own business. He is a member of Brotherhood of Christian Businessmen & Professionals - Sta. Rosa Main Chapter, past president and recognized Paul Harris Fellow of a Rotary club, past vice-president of Makati Chamber of Commerce & Industry, and past director/treasurer of Philippine Association of National Advertisers.

One thought on “Leaving Money on the Table”

Leave a comment